Ruminations

“Travel holds the magical possibility of reinvention: that you might find a place you love, to begin a new life and never go home” (Ghost Train to the Eastern Starqtd. in Paul Theroux’s The Tao of Travel, 2011).

I just finished reading Theroux’s book last night, so I’m feeling a bit philosophical today. After a very satisfying day yesterday hanging with my friend Chris, here in Athens, GA, we went to a pub called the Globe and met a couple of his friends. It was pretty chill, being the Sunday evening of a long weekend; happy MLK Day y’all!

While chatting about everything from the differences between American and Canadian politics, to theatre, to the joys and frustrations of academic life, I remarked at one point in reference to my purpose in traveling now that I think I’ve got at least one reinvention left in me. It reminded me of Theroux’s book. Thanks Roy, Adron – and of course, Chris – for a very lovely, low-key time at the pub. Part of the joy of travel for me is meeting people along the way. So far, it’s working :).

Prior to our pub outing, Chris and I spent some time in the afternoon at the Georgia State Botanical Gardens, which was just a little bit of heaven – especially for a Canadian recently arrived from the land of snow and cold. I gloried in the mild, sunny weather. Even though it’s off-season for most of the flora, there was still enough new growth and smells emanating from the earth to make for sensory euphoria. The camellias especially were stunning. By far, the best part of the gardens was the conservatory, with its bounty of non-native plants. So, here are just a few pics of that adventure. Enjoy.

Image

 

Image

 

I particularly love the afternoon light in this photo.

Image

 

I have a particular fondness for images where the perspective moves up.

Image

 

Image

 

Chris and I chillin’ at the end of our wanderings. Good day well spent.

hasta pronto.

 

6 thoughts on “Ruminations

  1. I so, so needed these pictures today. It’s minus 112 here in Ottawa and that’s not counting the wind chill. I also, so, so miss you. Mmmmwah, Jim.

    • so glad i could help, Jim! i’ve been following the weather stories. looks just perishing. can’t say i’m sorry to miss that :). sending you lots of warm hugs. xx

  2. So glad to have been able to spend some time with you! It was wonderful to meet you! Safe travels! I’ll be following you!

    Hugs!

    Roy

    • it has been actually really variable, but some really nice days mixed in. watch for the next series coming from Buenos Aires! i leave for there today. can’t wait! xx

Leave a Reply

