Barcelona, the enchantress

I arrived in Barcelona on March 25th, after cutting short my stay in Stockholm by two weeks. I’m sure Stockholm is lovely in summer, and it is certainly rich in history and interesting architecture, but I couldn’t take any more of the biting winds, the snow, and the grim people constantly rushing to find the warmth of shops. I could’ve stayed in Canada for that! So, on to Barcelona, the city that stole my heart the first time around. She has not disappointed this time either. This time I spent my first two weeks in the Raval neighbourhood, known for its large communities of immigrants, especially those from Indonesia, Pakistan and Eastern Europe. Close to La Rambla, this old part of the city was once the underbelly near the port, known for its high crime rates. There are still the pickpockets (in every neighbourhood in a city this large), but the area has changed a great deal, particularly as the economy relies increasingly more on tourism. I found wonderful food and amazing people. Like my host, Monica, whose non-stop energy is infectious. She made sure I knew my way around, introduced me to some great tapas places, and was just great fun.

During the two weeks i stayed there, I reacquainted myself with one of my favourite galleries, La Virreina, on La Rambla. This place always has incredible photo exhibitions, and once again I was left breathless. 

Image

 

This retrospective of works by Alberto García Alix explores self-portraiture in ways that are haunting, but not sentimental and never self-indulgent. I am still ruminating on this work. I love when art – which is always free to the public in this gallery – pushes me to question my assumptions. At the same gallery, in the studio space was an exhibition by photo-journalist, Guillermo Cervera, Bye-Bye Kabul. I had to return to see it another day because I was so overwhelmed by Alix’s work. I’m glad I waited; the two of them alone are incredibly powerful, and together would leave one’s psyche in tatters. Completely worth seeing. Intelligent and thoughtful responses to the very difficult worlds we all inhabit at times.

From there, in need of something a bit more whimsical, I went with friends to see the Magic Fountains near Plaza Espanya. I had resisted this on previous trips, as it is such a blatantly tourist venue. I know, I know. However, I will now say that a trip to Barcelona should include this amazingly fun experience. The show lasts for two hours, and I was completely mesmerized by the beauty and the sense of fun. It’s still early in the season, but there were at least a couple of thousand people there, all completely immersed (pardon the pun) in the display of light, sound and water. It truly is magical! Image

You really need to get there early to find a better vantage point than we managed. This photo doesn’t really give the perspective, but as the evening darkened and more people arrived, the party atmosphere intensified, and the lights were truly spectacular. And it’s free! 

On the absurdist side of things, following our trip to the Magic Fountain, my friends Paroma and Ben and I decided to get a quick and cheap bite to eat, so we set out on Avenida Paral.lel looking for pizza. As it was looking like rain, which eventually did arrive, we sought a place with some shelter so we could sit outside. One should always be aware of one’s surroundings. We ended up at a place called La Crepe, which turned out to be run by an Asian family. The hideously bad red wine was served ice cold, and the pizza was barely edible. However, what made it a great experience was the presentation of the food. The individual pizzas came on wooden trays, with the strangest cutting tool i’ve ever seen. It looked like a medieval weapon of war. Really. Here’s the proof. 

Image

 

I am still laughing about this particular experience. There were, of course, many other wonderful days and nights to follow. And soon, I will post about some of those. For now, I leave you with one of the many photos from Parc Güell, one of my favourite contemplative spots.

Image

 

Until next time…

Leave a Reply

